

The Catholic Women's League of Canada Alberta Mackenzie Provincial Council

Where and Who Are We?



The Alberta Mackenzie Provincial Council covers the area from the southern border of Alberta, north to the Artic Ocean. The east – west border is generally from Saskatchewan west to the British Columbia border with the borders of the Mackenzie-Fort Smith (M-FS) Diocese forming the borders in the Northwest Territories. The ABMK Council of the Catholic Women's League of Canada was established in 1947.

There are five dioceses encompassed in this area. From south to north the dioceses are: Calgary (C), Edmonton (E), St. Paul (StP), Grouard-McLennan (GM), Mackenzie-Fort Smith (M-FS). The five dioceses cover over 2 million (2,000,000+) square kilometres and boasts a membership in the Catholic Women's League of 9,101 amongst 155 councils (National 2019 Annual Reports) – second only to Ontario in membership and council numbers.

The ABMK Provincial Council respectively thanks God for all of creation. We acknowledge that we are situated on Treaty 7, 4, 6, 8 and 10 lands, Tll'cho Treaty, Deh'cho Territory, Sah'tu Dene Treaty, Gwich'in Dene Treaty and Inuvialuit Treaty Lands. We acknowledge the many First Nations, Métis, and Inuit whose footsteps have marked and cared for these lands for centuries.

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Calgary - established in 1912; Bishop: The Most Rev. William

McGrattan – has 50 CWL councils arranged into five regions. The Calgary Diocesan Council of the Catholic Women's League of Canada was established in 1922.

The Catholic Archdiocese of Edmonton - established in 1912; Bishop: The Most Rev. Richard Smith – has 65 CWL councils arranged into nine zones. The Edmonton Diocesan Council of the Catholic Women's League of Canada was established in 1922.

The Roman Catholic Diocese of St. Paul - established in 1948; Bishop: The Most Rev. Paul Terrio – has 19 CWL councils. The St. Paul Diocesan Council of the Catholic Women's League of Canada was established in 1965.

The Catholic Archdiocese of Grouard-McLennan - established in 1967; Bishop: The Most Rev. Gerard Pettipas, C.Ss.R. – has 18 CWL councils. The Grouard-McLennan Diocesan Council of the Catholic Women's League of Canada was established in 1937.

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Mackenzie-Fort Smith - established in 1967; Bishop: The Most Rev. Jon Hansen, C.Ss.R – has 3 CWL councils. The MacKenzie-Fort Smith Diocesan Council of the Catholic Women's League of Canada was established in 1964.

